The latest book in the series, 'Dane Thorburn and the Stanthorpe Rebellion' is now available!

The Ruling Elements of Nature – Part 1 – The Basics

The Ruling Elements of Nature govern the state of the entire land and all living things.

What are they and what does it mean?

There are four Ruling Elements of Nature – Air, Earth, Fire and Water.

Each of the Ruling Elements of Nature has its own defining colour:

  • Air – argent / silver
  • Earth – vert / green
  • Fire – gules / red
  • Water – azure / blue

Everything in the land is made of one or more of the Ruling Elements of Nature.

In Brindabeare and throughout Valentaland there is a God associated with each Ruling Element:

  • Arclos is the God of Air – said to live in the Strivett Mountains and ride a giant kestrel.
  • Emilene is the Goddess of Earth – said to live in Harlanwood and ride a giant boar.
  • Vrenin is the God of Fire – said to live in the Highland Mountains and ride a dragon.
  • Seruza is the Goddess of Water – said to live within the Astuvius Falls and ride a giant sea turtle.

Each Ruling Element has its own unique features – some of which can be helpful and others that can be harmful.

They also interact and rely on each other in order to work properly, and to be in ‘balance.’

If there is a disruption to the balance of the Ruling Elements of Nature, then nature itself will act to restore the balance – readers of Souls will know exactly what I mean.

I will talk more about each of the Ruling Elements in future Blogs – stay tuned.

Published on September 21, 2021


Matt Galanos

Matt Galanos is the author of a fantasy fiction series about the adventures of Dane Thorburn and his friends, as they battle the growing forces of evil in the city of Brindabeare and across the whole of Valentaland.

Comments are closed.